Home | Exam Information
Home | Microsoft Exam information, study guides, training courses, help and advice.
Copyright © Accelerated Ideas 2005-2018

About Microsoft's new certifications MCPD, MCTS, MCA

Microsoft's new certification programs MCTS, MCPD and MCA were designed to highlight a candidate's skill in a principal technology set. Each exam now focuses more on core technical and professional skills rather than the old fashion 'broad range of knowledge'. Using this specific set of criteria, individuals can channel their study towards a certification that meets their exact needs.

In contrast to the older certification paths such as MCSD, the new program provides quicker certification paths that are targeted to specific job roles or technologies. IT professionals can quickly gain significant credentials to prove their expertise by passing fewer exams. In addition, companies can more easily ensure that IT professionals applying for positions have the necessary skills for their demands and future projects. Its great news for candidates because you have shorter study times and a more affordable certification path.

Job seekers and managers will both benefit from the new changes. The certification framework makes it easier for managers to distinguish candidates that meet specific job criteria. The naming of the certifications is one of the big changes. Each certification path now has a unique title for the skill set that it applies to. For example, the MCTS certification has several variations such as Microsoft SQL Server 2005 and .NET Framework 3.5, ASP.NET Applications. By using fewer credentials and logos, Microsoft have made it easier to understand qualifications while still offering a high level of distinction. These all go to make the Microsoft certifications an essential recruitment tool which continues to drive the marketplace for high paying jobs.

Microsoft have introduced 3 new certification paths:

Microsoft Certified Technology Specialist (MCTS)
This series validates core technology and product skills, such as how-to or implementation skills.

Microsoft Certified IT Professional (MCITP) and Microsoft Certified Professional Developer (MCPD)
This series validates specific job-role skills outside of the core technology, such as operational processes, operational procedures, and analyzing business problems.

Microsoft Certified Architect (MCA)
This series validates the skills that are required to affect business IT successfully. These skills include technical breadth, technical depth, communication, strategy, organizational politics, process, and leadership.

Popular Sections

Free Practice Tests

We have a large selection of free Microsoft practice tests to help you prepare for your exam
Microsoft Practice Tests


Azure and Amazon AWS Certification Salaries
Azure and Amazon AWS Certification Salaries

Few would argue that cloud certifications are on the rise. There's an increasing number of job opportunities for those with skills in cloud architecture and infrastructure for both Amazon AWS and Azure. A recent market report highlighted that..
Do you need to recertify your Microsoft exams? Recertification for MCSE and MCSA Explained
Do you need to recertify your Microsoft exams? Recertification for MCSE and MCSA Explained
Microsoft have updated their recertification process which requires IT professionals to renew their MCSE and MCSD certifications every 2-3 years to stay up to date. Recertification exams, just like any other exam, are published on a regular basis as
SQL Server 2014 Exam Numbers and Certifications
SQL Server 2014 Exam Numbers and Certifications
Microsoft have confirmed the new SQL Server 2014 certifications and associated exams. As the new version of SQL Server is focused on performance tuning and high availability, they've placed the new DB platform solely in the MCSE certification..

English English  |  Portuguese Portuguese