Home | Exam Information
Home | Microsoft Exam information, study guides, training courses, help and advice.
Copyright © Accelerated Ideas 2005-2018

Which exams are part of the Windows Phone Certification (MCPD)

The mobile market is an increasingly fast-paced industry with many big businesses looking to tap into the millions of mobile users worldwide. The Windows Phone Certification allows developers to certify their skills in developing apps for the Windows Phone series.

As with other developer certifications, the Windows Phone Certification is part of the MCPD group. There are 3 exams required to achieve the MCPD status for Windows Phone: Two of them are MCTS exams and the last is the MCPD exam.

Although it's not always the case, many people consider the MCTS exams to be foundation exams that provide building blocks for other higher exams. They usually focus on a particular area of development such as data access or a particular platform. The last exam, the MCPD, is usually a higher level exam focusing on good practices and architecture.

The following exams are required to achieve the MCPD Windows Phone Developer

MCTS prerequisite – Silverlight 4 Development
Developing software using the Silverlight framework

MCTS prerequisite – Accessing Data with Microsoft .NET Framework 4
Using LINQ, SQL, Entity Frameworks, Stored Proecdures, XML

MCPD requirement – Designing and Developing Windows Phone Applications
High level exam focusing on design and development principles

You must pass all of these exams.

As with other Microsoft certifications, you do not have to take the exams in any particular order but you will only achieve the MCPD once you have passed all three. This certification also required re-certification every 2 years.

Popular Sections

Free Practice Tests

We have a large selection of free Microsoft practice tests to help you prepare for your exam
Microsoft Practice Tests


Azure and Amazon AWS Certification Salaries
Azure and Amazon AWS Certification Salaries

Few would argue that cloud certifications are on the rise. There's an increasing number of job opportunities for those with skills in cloud architecture and infrastructure for both Amazon AWS and Azure. A recent market report highlighted that..
Do you need to recertify your Microsoft exams? Recertification for MCSE and MCSA Explained
Do you need to recertify your Microsoft exams? Recertification for MCSE and MCSA Explained
Microsoft have updated their recertification process which requires IT professionals to renew their MCSE and MCSD certifications every 2-3 years to stay up to date. Recertification exams, just like any other exam, are published on a regular basis as
SQL Server 2014 Exam Numbers and Certifications
SQL Server 2014 Exam Numbers and Certifications
Microsoft have confirmed the new SQL Server 2014 certifications and associated exams. As the new version of SQL Server is focused on performance tuning and high availability, they've placed the new DB platform solely in the MCSE certification..

English English  |  Portuguese Portuguese